Bienal de Flamenco 1990
share and comment   like   twitter

The Bienal VI in 1990 is dedicated to toque and it’s the last edition focused on a single flamenco expression. Niño de Pura is the last artist that wins a Premio Giraldillo in this modality of awards. With an image created by Antonio Saura, the festival gathers most of the greatest guitar players of all time: from Manolo Sanlúcar to Serranito, Vicente Amigo, Tomatito, Manuel Carmona, Gerardo Núñez, a nine-year-old Jerónimo Maya, José Antonio Rodríguez, Manolo Franco, Pepe Habichuela, Ricardo Miño, Enrique de Melchor, Raimundo Amador or Rafael Riqueni. Some key figures of the ‘cante’ are also featured: Chano Lobato, Enrique Morente, La Cañeta and Fernanda de Utrera. Artists apart, this edition is known for hosting flamenco at the magical and hidden Torre de Don Fadrique.